Find a show or venue

Search

Order by phone

(800) 430-8903

Your independent guide to the best shows in Jacksonville



Customer reviews for Rock Of Ages (US Tour)
Avg. Customer Review (3.4 Stars):
Number of Reviews: 48
Email a friend about this .
Write an online review and share your thoughts.

Showing 1 to 48 of 48 reviews
Back to Paged View  


52 of 86 people found the following review helpful:

Just no...Horrible, Nov 24, 2012
reviewer: NEVER AGAIN from Palm Desert, California
when i arrived a the theater with my family i was expecting a amazing theatrical experience but i was very disappointed in what i saw. It was so bad my ears drums felt like they were about to explode . the scenes were disgusting i mean how low can this group stoop! Seriously, great way to show the younger generations what the 80 s were like! NOT! This is some sex crazed creeps idea of what the 80s were. Now to the people who haven`t seen it or are considering seeing it DONT GO YOURS EARS WILL BLEED! I SURE KNOW MINE DID! THANK YOU VERY MUCH YOU! A VERY UPSET KID have a nice day

Was this review helpful to you?  


29 of 54 people found the following review helpful:

Not for kids under 17, Jun 09, 2012
reviewer: Upset Mom from Chicago
I was so excited to bring my fourteen year old daughter to the show to share the music I grew up with. Unfortunately, we left after the first act due to pornographic nature of the show. Girls with just bras and underwear continually bending over, a man running across the stage bare butt, people dry humping an stage, and a video of a four-some acting out just about everything. She was embarrassed and I was appalled. Would have left earlier but was in the exact middle of the row. Extremely disappointed in the misleading rating provided.

Was this review helpful to you?  


17 of 20 people found the following review helpful:

Rock Of Ages is THE BEST, Aug 23, 2011
reviewer: Rumor from Los Angeles
I have been watching musical theater my whole life, seen all the classics and been in most in community theater and show cases but never have I ever fallen in love with a musical like I did with Rock of Ages, I saw it twice in one week and three times that month. It is my FAVORITE musical I suggest it to all. (as long as you're in high school or older)

Was this review helpful to you?  


15 of 23 people found the following review helpful:

Totally inappropriate for anyone under 16, Nov 24, 2012
reviewer: Totally upset!!! from Palm Desert, California
The loud music, the pornographic scenes, the burlesque dress, the sex in the bathroom, the oral sexual how can you say that is appropriate for anyone over 7. The movie industry does a better job rating movies and at least if there is sex you know and you can choose not to go. I brought my 13 year old daughter there and was totally appalled. Shame on you not giving this a R rating!!!! If it was your child would you want them watching oral sex, nudity, and other things.

Was this review helpful to you?  


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful:

Fun, fun, fun!, Dec 06, 2011
reviewer: Amy G from Baltimore, MD
Saw Rock of Ages at the Lyric in Baltimore on Friday. This is a wonderful show with great characters, a strong cast, phenomenal 80's songs (yes, they are still memorable in their unique way!), and a tongue-in-cheek story line. The costumes alone are worth the price of admission! We sang along with all of the songs and laughed thru most of the show. Definitely too raunchy for young children and older, more prudish types. Ages ranged from teens to 70s, and everyone was rocking! Enjoy!

Was this review helpful to you?  


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful:

This was rated R and not for kids, Nov 26, 2012
reviewer: Average at best...needed a R rating from Palm Desert, California
Outside of the Jack Black ripoff and the mediocre singing they should have been more clear as far as what age it is appropriate for. Left at intermission...and there was a traffic jam trying to get out.

Was this review helpful to you?  


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful:

rock of ages was fun, Mar 16, 2012
reviewer: Tony from Tucson
What a great show last night! The cast was excellent, production was great and it was a fun time for all. The music was addictive and you felt like you personally knew the cast when it was over. Highly recommended to all

Was this review helpful to you?  


7 of 10 people found the following review helpful:

Left at intermission, Mar 27, 2012
reviewer: Andrew Covert from San Diego
The actors real tired but the audio was bad the band was louder then the singing. Great effort

Was this review helpful to you?  


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful:

Why don't they improve it?, Oct 25, 2012
reviewer: Todd from Calgary, Alberta
I've looked at reviews of this show as far as 2 years back and they are consistent. Bad sound, pitchy singing, slow moving, mediocre acting and dancing. Oh and I think the worst part were the musical arrangements! I thought maybe the sound tech was having a bad night but looks like this is a regular occurrence. You would think the producers and backers of this show would make changes to improve it but evidently they must be OK with mediocrity. I had the tickets given to me otherwise I would be pissed if I had spent money on this.

Was this review helpful to you?  


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful:

Classless and tacky, Jan 28, 2013
reviewer: Critic Crituque from Sacramento, California
Marginal singing supported by a strip club level dance troupe....and this was supposedly o.k. to bring a kid over 10 to? The whole show was catering to the drunk 19 year olds in the back row with Sophomoric humor and raunch from start to finish. If you want to laugh at jokes like "camel toe", "Steel Jizz" and "taint" this is your show. or if you want to get front row seats and discover the grooming skills of the dancers.... go for it. This is hardly theater and hardly worth going to see. It was insulting to have this production expect people to "cut loose" to a script that seemed like it was written by a horny 8th grader. Sooner this show moves on...the better...

Was this review helpful to you?  


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful:

Rock on!!, Jan 25, 2013
reviewer: Rob from San Jose, California
This is an awesome musical! I watched a lot of MTV back in the 80s, and I lived in LA back then too, so I get it. You can watch all of the videos from the original artists on Youtube. It's a good idea to watch a few hair metal videos, so that you will understand the parody. Here are some of the songs: Paradise City(Guns N Roses) Sister Christian (Night Ranger)/ Just Like Paradise (Album Version) (David Lee Roth)/ Nothin’ But A Good Time (Poison) Juke Box Hero (Foreigner)/ I Love Rock N’ Roll (Joan Jett) Hit Me With Your Best Shot (Pat Benatar) Waiting For A Girl Like You (Foreigner) More Than Words (Extreme)/ Heaven (Warrant) Wanted Dead Or Alive (Bon Jovi) I Want To Know What Love Is (Foreigner) I Wanna Rock (Twisted Sister) Pour Some Sugar On Me (Def Leppard) Harden My Heart (Quarterflash) Shadows Of The Night (Pat Benatar) Here I Go Again (Whitesnake) Don’t Stop Believin’ (Journey)

Was this review helpful to you?  


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful:

Worst Show Ever At Your Theatre, Nov 24, 2012
reviewer: John Glass from Rancho Mirage Ca
Appropriate for children over 7!? I left with a 13 year old-your critic should be fired!! Hope this type of show doesn't become the "McCallum!" You are much better than that!

Was this review helpful to you?  


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful:

HORRIBLE, Jan 08, 2013
reviewer: Kathy from Albuquerque, New Mexico
I just watched this show this weekend in Albuquerque. This was the worst show I have ever seen. I felt like I was watching a never ending skit on Saturday Night Live. The singing was so out of tune, it was painful. The highlight was the band. The whole cast was just horrific. People around me were leaving, just climbing over eachother to get out. I thought this was professional theater......I saw a better show at the Junior High level. They at least could carry a tune. I grew up in the 80's..and this was NOTHING like the 80's. the story line was pathetic, and the dancing was laughable. Embarrased for those with children. One family walked out during first 5 minutes.

Was this review helpful to you?  


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

Awesome!, May 18, 2011
reviewer: Charles from Dallas
Fun Funny Lighthearted Loved the music! (I sang along on every song)

Was this review helpful to you?  


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful:

So good, I have to see it a second time!, Mar 08, 2012
reviewer: Anonymous from Anytown, AT 55555
I attended this show anticipating great musical flashbacks to my high school years. I had no idea I would get that plus a night of huge laughs. My boyfriend is not a fan of theater, but I can't let this show leave town without making sure he sees it...if any show can transform him into a "theater lover", this is the one. Tickets for show number two are purchased!

Was this review helpful to you?  


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

Awesome, Jan 31, 2013
reviewer: Anonymous from Sacramento, California
This was an awesome show. Fun had by my 16 yo daughter to my musical hating husband. We all loved it. Don't understand the bad reviews. Did you not know what the play was about ??

Was this review helpful to you?  


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

Great show!! enjoyed it sending my adult kids to see it!!, Mar 23, 2013
reviewer: Anonymous from Toronto, Ontario
We went with a group of friends in our 40-50's and loved it!! Really depicted time of the 80's. Don't take your young kids to see it Really! they wouldn't even understand the story line let alone the era. Loved the music and show!! Would go again to see!! Much better then the movie !! Go see if you get a chance!!

Was this review helpful to you?  


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

Great show!! enjoyed it sending my adult kids to see it!!, Mar 23, 2013
reviewer: Anonymous from Toronto, Ontario
We went with a group of friends in our 40-50's and loved it!! Really depicted time of the 80's. Don't take your young kids to see it Really! they wouldn't even understand the story line let alone the era. Loved the music and show!! Would go again to see!! Much better then the movie !! Go see if you get a chance!!

Was this review helpful to you?  


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

Great show for adults, May 05, 2013
reviewer: Leigh Fairchild from Sequim, WA USA
The music was great, the cast was great and the story was not only funny but the actors were amazing. For all the people who said they took their child to see this show, I can't imagine why. It is definitely not for children. However, why can't adults enjoy a show for adults without needing to please children. They have their own shows.

Was this review helpful to you?  


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

Freakin AWESOME, Jun 17, 2013
reviewer: Joyceeeeeeeee from Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
I don't know what show anyone was watching that had a negative thing to say. It was amazing. Saw it Friday and HAD to go back on Sunday! Every single one of cast were so talented. So so talented. How they combined songs was genius. And, the humor was so the eighties.. Graduated 1981, was in the clubs 1981 throughout the 80s, saw lots of bands. This show was no less than EXCELLENT.. My Goodness, I would love to call out someone but they were all soooo soooo good. The "hot girls" danced so hard, never saw big men move and dance that hard, and everyone.. EVERYONE was so good. I hated calling out some people, but trust me.. The show was PERFECT... Congrats to you. Very talented, very entertaining.. so so worth it....

Was this review helpful to you?  


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

51 yr old mom, Sep 11, 2013
reviewer: Lucille Becker from Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Loved this play! Saw it twice in New York and once in Milwaukee. Would see it again! Classic 80's rock. Not appropriate for under age 18, but all other ages loved it!!!

Was this review helpful to you?  


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

Great show and cast, Jun 17, 2013
reviewer: Mike Dayoc from Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Love the 80's music and this show was everything I thought it would be and more. This was not a children's show and I am glad it was not because the humor was great and the innuendo's were even funnier. I went with my wife to have a good time and we walked out of the theater still singing and excited. Would recommend this show to any rockers from the 80's who love music.

Was this review helpful to you?  


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

Rock of Ages show in Meriam Theatre, Jun 16, 2013
reviewer: Happy visitor from Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Just saw the show last night at Meriam Theatre, in Philadelphia. The show, which was 2.5hrs long, was super energetic, kept everyone singing along and very entertaining. This show is definetely NOT for anyone under 16yrs old, as it is too sexy for kids. Girls are weather extremely provocative clothing...barely any at all. Having the pleasure of seating in the front row seats, I felt that I was at a concert, theatre & a strip club ;)

Was this review helpful to you?  


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

Awesome for Adults, Nov 29, 2012
reviewer: Chuck from Wichita, Kansas
If you like 70' rock and roll and irreverent comedy this is perfect. It has foul language and the girls are hot and very scantily clad so not for anyone under 16ish, or anyone over 65ish.

Was this review helpful to you?  


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

So Much Fun!, Dec 02, 2012
reviewer: Treesa from Madison, Wisconsin
This musical is great. I saw it in Chicago over the summer and hope to see it again!! It is a bit risque but that is the responsibility of the individual to research those things. Mostly it is just a wonderful, fun play on the 80's. Its like a concert. Enjoy, have fun!

Was this review helpful to you?  


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

Great Fun, Dec 12, 2012
reviewer: Marlene from Winnipeg, Manitoba
The cast are wonderful such great talent. The music was fantastic great voices. Thank you for the pleasure of being in the audience. Loved Loved Loved the show.

Was this review helpful to you?  


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

Great show!!!, Jan 25, 2013
reviewer: Paula from Guntersville, Alabama
Saw show in New York and was so excited to see it again in Huntsville with Broadway Theater League last year. Yes, there are parts that are not for all ages, but my daughter saw it both times. I wish we could be in Birmingham to see it again

Was this review helpful to you?  


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

What the #%^$@%$?, Jan 28, 2013
reviewer: OMG how bad! from Sacramento, California
Was this trashy show written by Howard Stern?

Was this review helpful to you?  


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

Don't Recommend, Feb 09, 2013
reviewer: Glad I didn't bring any kids with me from Spokane, Washington
Since I'm not the type of person who enjoys pornographic material I can't give this show a very high rating. I had never been to a strip club but now I feel I can add that to my list of life experiences. The story and singing were entertaining, but overall I wouldn't recommend this show to anyone who can't stomach live dry humping, lots of strip club type dancing, and girls bent over showing off their g string clad undersides.

Was this review helpful to you?  


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

AWESOME!, Feb 10, 2013
reviewer: Dawn from Spokane, Washington
We had a GREAT time. If you grew up in the 80's you will enjoy it. It is definately not for children.

Was this review helpful to you?  


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

THE WORST OF BROADWAY, Feb 11, 2013
reviewer: DICK from MOSCOW, IDAHO
THIS WAS THE FIRST TIME THAT WE EVER WALKED OUT OF A SHOW. WE HOLD THE INB RESPONSIBLE FOR PUTTING US THRU THIS TORTURE. WE WILL NEVER AGAIN BUY SEASON'S TICKETS THERE. SHAME ON THEM. THE SINGING WAS OFF KEY ALSO. I WOULD LIKE A REFUND.

Was this review helpful to you?  


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

I was FRONT ROW and LOVED IT!!, Feb 24, 2013
reviewer: Gene M. from South Bend, IN USA
The girls did wear racy cloths BUT people need to understand its a play. things are not going to be how they expect them to be..they need to do better research prior to seeing a show..ITS CALLED ROCK OF AGES and its about 80's hair band music! what did you expect!?!?...Over all it was a great musical. good story line. the Narrator was funny the girls were beautiful and the bad rocked!!!

Was this review helpful to you?  


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

Worst musical yet., Mar 07, 2013
reviewer: Anonymous from Ottawa, Ontario
Where to begin....poor sound quality, off pitch singing, bad staging, weak choreography, couldn't hear the dialogue because of deafening base mix in background. How this musical continues to make it to the modern stage is beyond me. My condolences to those of you who have bought tickets.

Was this review helpful to you?  


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

Not for children, but we were aware before we bought tickets, Mar 08, 2013
reviewer: Child of the 80's from South Bend, Indiana
For anyone who grew up in the 80's, the music was FANTASTIC! The actor who played Drew was an amazing singer. Obviously the show wasn't necessarily about the 80's, but rather using music from the 80's to tell a story. Sure, some of the singing was a little pitchy, but songs from the 80's were very hard to sing. Definitely some talent in those days! My husband and I were shocked at how many parents brought their children. After reading the reviews, it was obvious many of them didn't have a clue what the show was about. I, for one, would definitely watch this show again just for the music!

Was this review helpful to you?  


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

Loved the show!, Apr 04, 2013
reviewer: Anonymous from Jacksonville, Florida
It's entertainment people! Agreed-probably not appropriate for under 16 years of age--so know this going into the show. But the costumes/dress are all part of the story line--again--it's a performance! The singers, dancers and band members are very talented. The music was great-brought back fun memories. Will definitely see it again and would recommend it.

Was this review helpful to you?  


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

Have Not Yet Seen, Apr 24, 2013
reviewer: Anonymous from Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
I was interested in buying tickets for my 13 and 11 yr old daughter's for "outta" school treat. They love the movie...but after reading the reviews...I'm not interested anymore in taking them. Sorry, but something's wrong...

Was this review helpful to you?  


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

Still Singing, Apr 28, 2013
reviewer: Linda from Des Moines, Iowa
What a great performance from this cast in Des Moines, thanks for all your efforts and talent!! I am still humming all the songs!!!!

Was this review helpful to you?  


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

Not what I expected but......., May 26, 2013
reviewer: Anonymous from Saint Louis, Missouri
Not sure what I expected, but never the less I found the show entertaining. The songs certainly brought me back to my twenties. Not everything flowed, but if you just want to be transported back in time and enjoy some music this show did just that. Be advised this show is not for the young.

Was this review helpful to you?  


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

It was wonderful!, Jun 18, 2013
reviewer: Courteney from Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
I went to see Rock of Ages this past Sunday at the Merriam Theater in Philadelphia. It was wonderful!!! I wouldn't consider myself a rock and roll lover, but I loved the music in this show. The singing was fantastic! The only downside is the seats in the theater. They're made for people who are maybe 5 feet. If I had one recommendation, it would be for Merriam Theater to gut the inside and redo it to make it more comfortable for average height people.

Was this review helpful to you?  


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

Rock of ages, Sep 11, 2013
reviewer: Lucille from Milwaukee, Wisconsin
The play is way better than the movie!

Was this review helpful to you?  


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

Great night if music!! If you don't enjoy having fun don't g, Oct 29, 2013
reviewer: M.J. Monicatti from Detroit, Michigan
Bottom line a night if great music but yes kids under 15 should not go there is a sexy fun about this play but for the 70/80,s child this is the ultimate play to see all year!!

Was this review helpful to you?  


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

Discount tickets suggested, Mar 17, 2014
reviewer: Jeff from Chicago, Illinois
The 2 leads, Scott, and Mullen did not impress me. Scott had the range, but had problems nailing the pitches. The most impressive singer was Hobbs as Jaxx. The band too seemed to phone it in, the songs had energy in the 80's, but this band put no effort into it. Even worse, the synth sounds for the Final Countdown were more Casio than Yamaha DX7. The band seemed to wallow in mediocrity. What redeemed it? The dancing. I have to say that barring a couple of early synchronization problems, the dancing was spot-on, and if the music hand been exciting, the glitz would have been worthwhile. The girls are scantily clad and like to show it, as did Hobbs, so costumes were great. The narrative was, um.. let's not talk about that,. The humor was so-so. Set and props were great. Theater (BofA Chicago) visibility was not good. Fundamentally, I believe that the show did not have respect for the music; though they are trite, these were some great songe that deserve better treatment.

Was this review helpful to you?  


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

strip club porn, Jan 07, 2014
reviewer: rer from Scranton, Pennsylvania
People are saying in there reviews that people should research what theyre going to see ahead of time..... HELLO!!!???? they did and it says for anyone over 7 years old!!!! WHICH THIS IS NOT !!! and its suppose to be about the 80s as is the music and people didnt dress like that (SLUTS) !! that is how people are today, wearing nothing, not back then for the majority. and what people do sexually is done in private !! not on stage!! They cant sing or act. They need to research the 80s clothing because it wasnt naked, bras and panties.

Was this review helpful to you?  


0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

A-Mazing!!! A musical for the ages!, Jan 27, 2014
reviewer: Anonymous from Indianapolis, Indiana
WOW!!! I LOVE the movie. It is up there in my top ten favorites of all time. My husband enjoys the movie as well and we always have a good time when we watch it. When I found out this musical was coming to Indy, I hinted to my husband that a couple tickets would make an awesome Christmas gift. He did not disappoint. And this show did not disappoint. This show was so much fun!!! The singing was fantastic, the characters were well developed and the story line was great. As I mentioned, I am a huge fan of the movie. A lot of reviewers say to forget the movie but I was pleasantly surprised with how closely the movie did follow the musical. If you ever get the chance to see this musical- DO IT!!!! I LOVED THIS! My only disappointment was that Stacee Jaxx didn't have a huge role in this musical but other than that it was fantastic!!! Also, if you think that it's going to be OK to bring young children to this...THINK AGAIN! This musical is pretty raunchy and full of sexual innuendos.

Was this review helpful to you?  


0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

Terrific Performance!, Feb 04, 2014
reviewer: Charlie the drummer from Schenectady, New York
Saw the show in Schenectady the other night and enjoyed it immensely. The performances were mostly excellent, the music was well-chosen from a not-so-great decade for music, and the musicians were outstanding. We particularly enjoyed the actor who played Lonnie. Great to meet you Andrew; you were terrific!

Was this review helpful to you?  


0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

Great show, Feb 23, 2014
reviewer: T. Bolling from Charlotte, North Carolina
Best show we have seen in a long tine. Funny and loved the 80's musin

Was this review helpful to you?  


0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

Rock of Ages...Pure Fun!, Mar 13, 2014
reviewer: Z man from Chicago, Illinois
I had a smile on my face for 2 hours and 20 minutes!

Was this review helpful to you?  


0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

Fun show and talented cast, Mar 22, 2014
reviewer: Wendy from Boston, Massachusetts
If you knew what you were buying tickets for, this show was fantastic. Yes, it was for mature addiences, but that is our job to research. The play itself was as good as the one I saw on Broadway. The cast was enthusiastic and talented. I would recommend it for any 80's fan.

Was this review helpful to you?  


Showing 1 to 48 of 48 reviews Back to Paged View

What's on When

Powered by Five Star Review